Strategy Lab

The Strategy Lab at the University of St. Gallen (HSG) researches and translates cutting-edge strategic thinking into businesses. We develop and build on leading knowledge and explore ideas that shape the strategizing of tomorrow. We work with leading academics, visionary entrepreneurs and partners to advance the practice of strategy making today and in the future.

What we offer

We stand ready to support you in connection with the following areas:

Strategy Workshop

Advisory and Strategy Development

We advise you in responding to strategic challenges with our deep knowledge and expertise on strategic topics through research and decades of practical exposure across all industries. With our unbiased external perspective we help you to gravitate towards the right priorities. Our workshops guide you through your transformation journey by redefining where and how to play to win.

Strategic Co-Creation

Ecosystems

We believe that future value is to be found in business models spanning different industries. Therefore, we provide a space for experimentation and strategic dialog across organizations (i.e. strategic roundtables and consortia). We support companies to identify, structure and manage their ecosystems to create and capture value beyond the usual.

Strategic Insights

Applied Research

We expand knowledge and explore ideas to advance research and shape the business strategies of tomorrow. As a research partner we offer deep dive studies on pre-defined strategic inputs – and jointly go after thought leading topics that have not yet been explored. We share our insights and those from the leading strategy academics in inspirational talks and off-site events.

What we do

The Institute of Management & Strategy (IoMS) is the place at the University of St. Gallen where strategy has been researched, taught and implemented in businesses for over 60 years with passion and value impact. We are a source of inspiration with regard to management challenges, a coach and sparring partner on your side providing guidance throughout strategic initiatives. We offer space for a strategic dialog through co-creation and joint studies to translate cutting-edge strategic thinking into your organization.

Erwin Hettich

Prof. Dr.
Head of Strategy Lab & Assistant Professor of Strategic Management

Get to know us

Learn more about what we stand for, where we come from and who we are.

About us
Visit us on LinkedIn

Rankings

The master program “SIM” is ranked # 1 worldwide (Financial Times Ranking) and the master program “MUG” is ranked # 1 in the DACH area (QS ranking).

With more than 40 institutes, the University of St. Gallen is one of the largest business schools in Europe.

Strategy Lab

Das Strategy Lab der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) entwickelt und erprobt neues Wissen und Ansätze in der Strategiedisziplin zur Anwendung in der Praxis. Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern aus Akademia und Wirtschaft erschliessen wir neue Denkansätze, um die Strategiearbeit in der Unternehmenswelt voranzutreiben. Seit über 60 Jahren erforschen und realisieren wir Strategien von morgen – die den entscheidenden Vorsprung geben.

Was wir bieten

In folgenden Bereichen stehen wir Ihnen zur Seite:

Strategie Workshop

Begleitung und Strategieentwicklung

Wir begleiten Sie bei strategischen Herausforderungen mit unserer Expertise aus Forschung und Praxis, die sich über alle Branchen erstreckt. In unseren Workshops zur Strategieentwicklung stehen wir Ihnen zur Seite und unterstützen Sie mit unserer unvoreingenommenen Perspektive. Wir helfen Ihnen im Transformationsprozess die richtigen Prioritäten zu setzen und das strategische wo agieren und wie agieren zu beantworten.

Strategisches Co-Creation

Ökosysteme

Wir glauben, dass branchenübergreifende Geschäftsmodelle die Zukunft sind. Wir unterstützen Sie beim Zusammenschluss spannender Firmen und ermöglichen Ihnen einen strategischen Dialog über Unternehmensgrenzen hinweg. Wir unterstützen Unternehmen beim Aufbau, Strukturierung und strategischen Ausrichtung ihrer Ökosysteme, um innovative Ideen zu verwirklichen und Ihr Unternehmen für die Zukunft auszurichten.

Strategie Impulse & Studien

Angewandte Forschung

Wir entwickeln Wissen und erforschen Ideen, um Unternehmen einen Vorsprung zu verschaffen und Geschäftsstrategien von morgen zu gestalten. Als Forschungspartner arbeiten wir gemeinsam an Strategiethemen (z.B. Studien, Impulse) und begleiten Sie bei der Umsetzung der Erkenntnisse in die Praxis. In strategischen Roundtables und Offsite-Events inspirieren wir Sie mit führenden Erkenntnissen der Strategie- und Managementforschung.

Was können wir für Sie tun?

Das Institut für Betriebswirtschaft ist der Ort an der Universität St. Gallen, an dem seit über 60 Jahren das Thema Strategie erforscht, gelehrt und erfolgreich in der unternehmerischen Praxis umgesetzt wird. Unsere Rolle reicht dabei vom neutralen Impulsgeber bei strategischen Herausforderungen und Sparringspartner für Führungskräfte bis hin zum Coach und Begleiter von strategischen Initiativen. Profitieren Sie von den exzellenten Kompetenzen aus Forschung und Praxis und der tiefgehenden Expertise unterschiedlicher Industrien.

Erwin Hettich

Prof. Dr.
Head of Strategy Lab & Assistant Professor of Strategic Management

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, für was wir stehen, woher wir kommen und wer wir sind.

Kennen lernen
Zu LinkedIn

Rankings

Das Masterprogramm „SIM“ liegt weltweit (Financial Times Ranking) und das Masterprogramm „MUG“ im DACH-Raum (QS Ranking) auf Platz 1.

Mit mehr als 40 Instituten zählt die Universität St. Gallen zu den grössten Wirtschaftsfakultäten Europas.